My search for good protein sources have led me to Hemp Seeds. They’re actually amazing!

As a runner and a weight lifter (and Yogi…I could keep going) I know how important protein is to the body.  Before going vegan I used protein shakes and Greek yogurt.  But now, things have gotten seemingly more difficult trying to keep up with my always active body.  In my quest to try to add more protein in my diet for my ever changing muscles I started doing my research.  That research led me to Hemp Seeds and you guys………these things are amazing!!

Hemp seeds are a complete protein which means they have all 20 known amino acids which is difficult to find in plant products.  Here are some stats:

Per 4 tbsp. (42 grams)

246 calories

11.4 grams Omega 6    3.6 grams Omega 3

2.7 grams mono-unsaturated fats

2.1 grams saturated fats

15 grams protein

2.5 grams fiber

4.5 grams carbs

no cholesterol

Vitamins B1, B6, B12, D,E

calcium, magnesium, sulfur, copper, iron, zinc, carotene, phospholipids, phytosterols, potassium,

phosphorus, enzymes, antioxidants, GLA’s

 

They have more digestible protein than animal sources, rich in Vitamin E, Increases energy levels and the metabolic rate, Lowers LDL (bad cholesterol) and blood pressure, Improves cardiovascular function and circulation, Helps with organ functions, Boosts immunity (with cold/flu season coming up who couldn’t use this), Helps with PMS and cramps (big yay in my book), Helps with the inflammation and symptoms of arthritis, Improves muscle recovery after exercise, Helps with dry skin and hair, Reduces degenerative diseases through prevention measures

 

So, as you can see these little seeds are a powerhouse when it comes to fueling the busy vegan athlete.  When paired with other sources of good vegan proteins like vegetable, legumes, other seeds and nuts, non-dairy milks (maybe try hemp milk too), grains (especially quinoa) and algae (spirulina and chlorella) you can build the perfect vegan diet high in protein to fuel your body and help you recover from whatever it is you like to get out there and do.

Have a great holiday weekend,

Denise

Leave a Reply

